top of page
Search

Macon artist/producer teams with "The Man Behind the [Wu-Tang] Clan" for streaming show



Photo: Wu-Tang Of Mics and Men documentary 2019


MACON - With the Instagram Live platform seeing a boom in innovation in the wake of the CO-Vid 19 pandemic and the success of the Verzuz battles organized by mega-producers Timbaland and Swizz Beats, Chris Wind the EMA of Macon, GA's Hip-Hop superhero crew, The Madvocates, has teamed up with music industry legend John "Mook" Gibbons, one of the architects behind one of Hip-Hop's greatest super-crews, the Wu-Tang Clan, as co-host of Mook in the Morning, a weekday morning show broadcast live from Mook's IG Account.


We caught up with the "Energy Masta" to find out more about the show, how he met Mook, and what connection the Wu-Tang Clan has with Middle Georgia.


Hey, how's it going?


Peace, peace. Feeling fantastic. You?


I'm well. It's great getting a chance to catch up with you and talk about what you've been up to since quarantine started. You've been busy!


Indeed. Probably even more. You get a lot of sh*t done when everyone else is stuck at home, too. They don't bother you. [laughs]


Right! Speaking of which, during the early part of quarantine you started co-hosting the Mook in the Morning Instagram show. For some of our readers who don't know the inner workings of Wu-Tang Clan, could you tell us who Mook is?


Wow! You know, the crazy thing is, as big a fan as I've been of Wu-Tang since I was like 10 years old, I ain't even know about Mook til I saw the Wu documentary that dropped on Showtime last year. He's John "Mook" Gibbons, we call him "The Man Behind the Clan". He's the first and only manager to manage all nine main members of the Wu-Tang Clan; so naturally, he was instrumental in building what we know Wu-Tang to be today. That Of Mics and Men documentary basically showed me the missing pieces for my own mission to unify Macon.


How'd you link with him and get involved with the show with all the pandemic stuff going on?


Like I said before, quarantine had EVERYONE at home, Mook included. After I learned about Mook, I made it my business to learn as much as I could about him and subscribed to notifications from his IG account. I had started getting up pretty early so I could study my 120 Lessons, so I noticed that Mook had started going live at 7 every morning and would bring viewers in to chat with him. It was dope that he was sharing knowledge and having conversations about the types of things that really impact our lives and society, so I tuned in and chimed in every chance I got. I started sharing the show, encouraging people to tune in, y'know, just building a community around it. I started letting him know what me and the Madvocates been up to and how he and Wu inspired it, and eventually he hit me up and asked me to co-host the show. It's been bong bong ever since.


It's amazing all the different ways people found to connect and use social media to create new platforms. Makes me think of the Verzuz battles by Tim and Swizz. They really benefitted during this time.


Absolutely. Matter fact, what made me go live with Mook the first time was a joke I had made with my wife where I was contemplating requesting to go live during the RZA Verzuz battle, since IG always has the little prompt to request when you first log on. [laughs]


Hilarious! Tell us more about the show.


Indeed. We're on live from Mook's IG (@johnmookgibbons) Monday through Friday at 9 a.m. The general format is we introduce the topic, build on it for a few, then bring in viewers and guests to add on to the conversation. We have set themes for each day of the week--Monday is Politics Monday and the Weekend Review which is self-explanatory; Tuesday is C.R.E.A.M. Money Talk where we build on economics and things like digital currency; Wednesday is Ask Mook Women's Q&A where women can ask us anything; Thursday is For the Children addressing topics that impact kids and education; and finally Flashback Friday telling our favorite flashback stories.


What would you say makes the show unique and makes it stand out as a talk show?


Heart. I immediately picked up on how deeply and genuinely Mook cares about issues that affect our community; and even more importantly, there's a big emphasis on taking real actions that impact those issues. The fact that Mook is a well of knowledge and wisdom from his industry experience is a big enough draw; but the show is on a whole other level by being really interactive and holding ourselves and the viewers accountable for working together to make a real impact on people's lives. We have a good time and laugh and stuff, but we always try to leave the audience with some jewels they can pass on to their own circles.


How does Mook in the Morning tie into the overall Wu-Tang brand?


You know Mook is the founder of Wu-Tang Management, Protect Ya Neck Records where I'm currently over the admin department, and Wu World Radio where the show will eventually also be on. Mook is such an integral part to the brand, and now even RZA agrees it's time for his story to be told. Mook in the Morning is just one platform that's allowing us as a whole to introduce him to the world and the current generation. Expect special guest appearances from members of the Clan. Quite a few Killa Bees pop in to share their thoughts; Johnell who plays GZA on the Hulu series has popped in. It's truly a family affair and our Mook in the Morning family is always growing and expanding on the core principles of Wu-Tang Clan. Each one teach one, Wu is for the children.


Do Mook or Wu-Tang have any plans that directly affect Macon and Middle Georgia?


Sh*t, the fact I'm even co-hosting the show impacts Macon [laughs]. There are quite a few viewers concentrated in places like New York and Virginia who might not have known anything about Macon if I weren't on there. Not to mention, a few of my family and friends, some of the Mads, a few people have been on the show. Some have even gotten involved outside the show. But, ultimately through the Madvocates drawing from the Wu-Tang model and applying it in ways that have a positive impact on the city, it brings attention back to the Wu brand by positioning it as a model for real change in communities through collaboration and creative expression that can be duplicated in cities around the country or the world. There are a few things I'm not at liberty to discuss just yet, but just know we're transforming a lot of lives in the coming year. Aside from that, we've [The Madvocates] got some music stuff in the works with Young Dirty Bastard and my mans, and my bro Stone Mecca, a dope soul musician that works closely with RZA.


Thanks for taking the time to chop it up with us. Anything else you want to say and leave the readers with?


Tune in, and be the change in the world to see the change in the world. Peace.


To watch Mook in the Morning, click HERE at 9 a.m. Monday through Friday.






Check out this bonus clip of Mook from Mass Appeal's Wu-Tang Clan: Of Mics and Men.



2020. Madvocates Blog. All Rights Reserved.


88 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page